Leitrim County Development Board with Fermanagh Local Strategy Partnership
Text Size: sml | med | lrg

Click here to skip the site navigation

Roads/Transportation - Leitrim

Sligo bound Irish Rail train
Sligo bound train

Leitrim County Council, as the Roads Authority for the County, has responsibility for the maintenance of all public roads in the County. The roads network in the county consists of National and Non-National Roads:

National Primary Roads: 56.5 km (N4, N15 AND N16).

Regional Roads: 335.8km – These roads are the main links within the County.

Local Roads: 1778.3km – Local Roads are roads of Local and Rural importance.

The National Roads Authority was formally established on 1 January 1994. The Authority's primary function, under the Roads Act 1993, is 'to secure the provision of a safe and efficient network of national roads'. For this purpose, it has overall responsibility for planning and supervision of construction and maintenance works on these roads.

Public Transport services for Leitrim include the following:

Train services: InterCity service runs from Dublin (Connolly Station) to Sligo. An average of five trains per day serve Carrick-on-Shannon.

Bus services include seven buses per day running between Dublin and Sligo via Carrick-on-Shannon. Other services include Sligo – Leitrim village; Enniskillen to Longford via Mohill and Dromod. The Rural LIFT community transport service in County Leitrim is one of 34 groups countrywide providing transport under the Rural Transport Initiative (RTI). Rural Lift runs 21 weekly services throughout the county.

Taxi services are available throughout the county (consult www.ireland.ie).